Prague Conference in 1987

In 1987, I presented a scientific paper at a conference
in Prague, Czechoslovakia.

At that time, Prague was a city in the territory under
control of the Soviet Union.

I have always performed my research on my own time and money.

I attended the conference on my vacation.

Needless to say, the other attendees were quite curious
about my personal research efforts.

During this time, I had an interesting conversation with
a Polish attendee while walking along the river:

POLISH ATTENDEE: We are not special.

MY RESPONSE: Being special is defined by what you do
to be the very best in your field.

POLISH ATTENDEE: We have no resources.

MY RESPONSE: Do you have a personal computer at your home?

POLISH ATTENDEE: Yes.

MY RESPONSE: Probably a better one than I have. My is
a Heathkit H89.

POLISH ATTENDEE: The bosses will not like it.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Prague Conference in 1987”

  1. Minta Vreugdenhil Says:

    I’ll right away take hold of your rss as I can’t to find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly allow me realize so that I could subscribe. Thanks.|

Leave a Reply

