Open Source Software Development Tool: Upgrade Progress

WEDNESDAY: 2015/09/31

STATUS: A few days ago, I lost my research flash drive for a few days.

DETAIL: My research flash drive is my means of performing my activities at remote sites. It contains my Open Office spreadsheet accounting data that could have created a problem for me if it got in the wrong hands. Fortunately, this did not happen.

RESULTS: It was obvious that a cryptographically secure replacement for the Open-Office spreadsheet accounting program was needed.

NEXT TASK: My first task will be to examine the Programmable Software Development Environment to determine what additional instructions will be needed.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Open Source Software Development Tool: Upgrade Progress”

  1. Mr. Mike Says:

    Thumb drives can be a problem, especially if they are lost. I have managed to not lose mine by keeping it on my key chain. If I didn’t do that, it would disappear faster than duct tape. 🙂

    If you have highly sensitive information on a thumb drive, I would recommend an Ironkey (http://ironkey.com/en-US/encrypted-storage-drives/s1000-basic.html)

    These have mil-spec hardware encryption as well as anti-tampering devices, which destroy the data if the device is tampered with or the wrong password entered too many times. Make sure you use a good pass phrase that you can type.

    Forking Open Office to use a software part that used a strong encryption algorithm like Blowfish or AES would be a useful exercise, as some documents are so sensitive that they need to be encrypted, even on an Ironkey

Leave a Reply

