The Computer Wisdom of Bugs Bunny

Do you remember the Bug’s Bunny cartoon where he pops out of the ground
in the middle of the desert and says “I think that I should have turned
left at Albuquerque”?

Mistakes always happen; some because of stupidity, some because of greed;
some because the required knowledge was not available, and some because
we are just human beings.

We are currently experiencing a great many security problems due to
hackers.

The basic computer design that makes this possible has a common program
and data buss. Hackers can cause their program to be loaded on the target
machine via this common buss.

In the late 1970’s, there was a different computer design, the Harvard
Architecture with separate data and program busses. This architecture
cannot be hacked.

About 1985, the microprocessor became practical and the Harvard
Architecture became obsolete.

“Did we turn right at Albuquerque in error”? I believe so. Could
have avoided it? I think not. We could not have predict the future.

Should we re-vitalize the Harvard Architecture? I think the benefits
would greatly out-weigh the costs.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The Computer Wisdom of Bugs Bunny”

  1. m88 Says:

    I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.

    I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.
    I’m quite sure I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  2. link alternatif m88 Says:

    Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It will always be helpful to read through articles from other writers
    and use a little something from other sites.

Leave a Reply

